Impost: A Journal of Creative and Critical Work 

Mission Statement

Impost: A Journal of Critical and Creative Work publishes a broad span of research in English studies, including scholarship in Composition-Rhetoric; American, British and World Literature; Linguistics and Language Studies; TESOL; English Education; Creative Writing Studies; and other research areas, as well as creative work, including fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and literary journalism.

Impost welcomes the work of writers from Pennsylvania and beyond, and we welcome exceptional writing from emerging and established authors.

Call for Submissions

Impost: A Journal of Critical and Creative Work, a peer-reviewed journal published by the English Association of Pennsylvania State Universities, welcomes submissions of scholarly essays in all fields of English studies. In addition, we welcome creative writing, including fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and literary journalism. Current and previous editions of the journal, which in the spring of 2016 changed its name from EAPSU Online, can be found on this page. 

Please submit your work via email to eapsu@calu.edu, with your name and the title of the work in the subject line. Attach the submission as one file in .doc or .docx format. In the body of the message, include a brief bio: your name, address, phone number, email address, institutional affiliation (if you have one), the genre and title(s) of your work, and any other relevant information. In the attached document, please do not include any identifying information. Scholarly work should follow current MLA guidelines. Creative prose should be double-spaced, and poems should be single-spaced.

Creative work can be simultaneously submitted; however, we expect to be notified immediately when a work must be withdrawn from consideration. Scholarly work should not be simultaneously submitted.

Contributors will be notified of acceptance status via email at the completion of the review process. Usually, the review process is complete three months after submissions are received. If you haven’t received notification of the status of your manuscript within three months, you may contact the editor at eapsu@calu.edu.

Current and previous editions of the journal, which in the spring of 2016 changed its name from EAPSU Online, can be found on our website, eapsu.org. While Impost is published by EAPSU, submissions are not limited to members; however, we do not encourage submissions from undergraduate students.

While our submission deadline is rolling, submissions received by October 31 will be guaranteed consideration for the upcoming issue of Impost. Submissions received after this date will be considered for the following year. By submitting your work, you agree that Impost acquires first serial rights. In addition, Impost may reserve non-exclusive rights to reprint a piece.

Additional questions should be directed to the editor:

Brent House, Impost editor

California University of Pennsylvania

eapsu@calu.edu

Journal Archives:

Here you can find past issues of the journal, which is published annually.

Volume Twelve: 2015

Volume Eleven: 2014

Volume Ten: 2013

Volume Nine: 2012

Volume Eight: 2011

Volume Seven: 2010

Volume Six: 2009

Volume Five: 2008

Volume Four: 2007

Volume Three: 2006

Volume Two: 2005

Volume One: 2004

Impost Board and Staff

Brent House

Editor

California

eapsu@calu.edu

Kathy Glass

Consulting Editor

Duquesne

glassk@duq.edu

Anne-Dyer Stuart

Editorial Board

Bloomsburg

astuart@bloomu.edu 

Tamara Hollins

Editorial Board

Cheyney

thollins@cheyney.edu

Timothy Ray

Editorial Board

West Chester

tray@wcupa.edu

Renae Shawgo

Editorial Board

Clarion

rhouse@clarion.edu 

Jeremy Sideris

Editorial Board

Edinboro

jsideris@edinboro.edu

Patrick Walters

Editorial Board

Kutztown

pwalters@kutztown.edu

Dana Washington

Editorial Board

Lock Haven

dwashing@lhup.edu

Timothy Ruppert

Editorial Board

Slippery Rock

timothy.ruppert@sru.edu 

Lynn Pifer

Editorial Board

Mansfield

lpifer@mansfield.edu

Lisa Konigsberg

Editorial Board

West Chester

lkonigsberg@wcupa.edu

Kim Vanderlaan

Peer Reviewer

California

vanderlaan@calu.edu

Troy Spier

Peer Reviewer

Tulane

tspier@tulane.edu 

Krystia Nora

Peer Reviewer

California

 krystia@gmail.com 

Mary Paniccia Carden

Peer Reviewer

Edinboro

mpcarden@edinboro.edu 

Tim Bintrim

Peer Reviewer

St Francis U

TBintrim@francis.edu

Laura Birkin

Peer Reviewer

Millersville

laurabirkin@hotmail.com

Roxana Cazan

Peer Reviewer

St Francis U

RCazan@francis.edu

John Lawson

Peer Reviewer

Robert Morris U

lawsonj@rmu.edu


Visit Impost on Facebook.

Join our Facebook group!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software